Meet The Professors 2019

The 2019 Meet the professor series is a wonderful chance for students and staff to celebrate the careers and achievements of our newly promoted and recruited professors. Our speakers will share their specialist knowledge and provide insights into ‘what’ and ‘who’ influenced their lives and careers.


Previous 2019 Events 

Thursday 21st March I Arts and Social Sciences I Built Environment
Professor Lisa Ford
Professor Linda Corkery

Tuesday 15th April I Science
Professor Jessica Grisham
Professor Jacquelyn Cranney 

Monday 6th May I Engineering and Science
Professor Vinayak Dixit, School of Civil and Environmental Engineering
Professor Lisa Keay, School of Optometry and Vision Sciences

Tuesday 7th May I Science
Professor Mike Letnic, School of Biological, Earth and Environmental Sciences
Professor Robert Brander, School of Biological, Earth and Environmental Sciences

Monday 13th May I Medicine
Professor Rebecca Guy, UNSW Medicine
Professor Maree Hackett, UNSW Medicine

Monday 3rd June I Business and Arts & Social Sciences
Professor Gigi Foster, School of Economics
Professor Ludmila Stern, School of Humanities and Languages

Monday 17 June I Law and Engineering
Professor Cameron Holley, UNSW Law
Professor Denis O'Carroll, School of Civil and Environmental Engineering

Monday 24 June I Arts and Social Sciences
Professor Kalervo Gulson, School of Education
Professor Iva Strnadová, School of Education

Tuesday 2 July Medicine
Professor Philip Ward, School of Psychiatry
Professor Melissa Green, School of Psychiatry

Monday 8 July I Law and Science
Professor Lyria Bennett Moses, UNSW Law
Professor Jake Olivier, School of Mathematics and Statistics

Mon 15 July I Engineering and Science
Professor Shawn Kook, School of Mechanical and Manufacturing Engineering
Professor Thomas Denson, School of Psychology

Tuesday 23 July Science and Arts & Social Sciences
Professor Joel Pearson, School of Psychology
Professor Emery Schubert, School of the Arts & Media

Monday 19 August Medicine
Professor Nigel Turner, School of Medical Sciences
Professor Patsie Polly, School of Medical Sciences

Tuesday 27 August I Science and Engineering
Professor Catherine Greenhill, School of Mathematics and Statistics
Professor Salil Kanhere, School of Computer Science and Engineering

Monday 16 Sep I UNSW Business School and School of Humanities and Social Sciences, UNSW Canberra
Professor Gavin Schwarz, School of Management, UNSW Business School
Professor Anthony Burke, School of Humanities and Social Sciences, UNSW Canberra 

Wednesday 18 September I Built Environment and Engineering
Professor Oya Demirbilek, UNSW Built Environment
Professor Alistair Sproul, School of Photovoltaic & Renewable Energy Engineering

Wednesday 25 September I Science 
Professor Josef Dick, School of Mathematics and Statistics
Professor Xiao Hua Wang, School of Science, UNSW Canberra

Wednesday 2 October I Medicine
Professor Jason Grebely, The Kirby Institute
Professor Andrew Vallely, The Kirby Institute

Tuesday 8 October I Engineering and Medicine
Professor Tracie Barber, School of Mechanical and Manufacturing Engineering
Professor Nalini Pather, School of Medical Sciences

Tuesday 22 October I UNSW Canberra Business and Law
Professor Helen Dickinson, School of Business, UNSW Canberra
Professor Gabrielle Appleby, School of Law

Monday 28 October I Engineering and Science 
Professor Kondo-Francois Aguey-Zinsou, School of Chemical Engineering
Professor Frances Kuo, School of Mathematics and Statistics

Monday 4 November I Science
Professor Shinichi Nakagawa, School of Biological, Earth and Environmental Sciences
Professor Alistair Poore, School of Biological, Earth and Environmental Sciences

Monday 18 November I Business and Law
Professor Paul Andon, School of Accounting
Professor Michael Handler, School of Law (The Allens Hub for Technology, Law & Innovation)

Tuesday 19 Nov I Medicine and Engineering UNSW Canberra
Professor Boaz Shulruf, Office of Medical Education
Professor Tapabrata Ray, School of Engineering and Information Technology, UNSW Canberra

Monday 25 November I Engineering and Medicine
Professor Daniel Christ, St Vincent's Clinical School, UNSW Medicine
Professor Julien Epps, School of Electrical Engineering and Telecommunications

Tuesday 3 December I Science
Professor Moninya Roughan, School of Mathematics and Statistics
Professor Katrin Meissner, Climate Change Research Centre